Project Run and Play

January 19, 2011 at 3:22 am Leave a comment

As someone who dreams of finding enough talent within myself to one day design something that people will stand up and take notice of, it should come as no surprise that I’m obsessed with Project Runway. And the newest version of the same show, The Fashion Show. I’ve never missed a season and even stalk follow some of the designers on twitter in hopes that some of their talent will rub off on me, albeit virtually.

So about a month ago while reading through the enormous number of creative and amazing blogs I follow via my google reader I read a post by the person I want to be when I grow up, Ashley at Lil’ Blue Boo who teased us by mentioning an upcoming Project Runway style competition featuring children’s clothes. Try as you might, I don’t think you can understand my level of excitement. I scoured google in hopes of finding out what she was eluding to, but came up empty handed. Then, somewhere around the last week of December, I found it … Project Run and Play.

This week marks week two of the competition and no, Upsy Daisy is not participating. Officially. But, unofficially we are hoping to test our creative skills and see how we think they stack up next to the other official and non-official competitors!

The challenge this week was to take the following Leila and Ben dress pattern and interpret it how you wish. Rather than tip the creative interpretation scale beyond recognition, we chose to create an upcycled piece to showcase the pattern’s flexibility. In this case we took my father’s (or it may have been my brother’s/cousin’s/grandfather’s) old button down shirt along with scrap fabric left over from another project and made what you see here.

And now we’re off to post a link to our work on the Project Run and Play blog!! Fun, fun, fun!!

 

Entry filed under: Inspiration, Project Run and Play, Upcycled. Tags: , , , , , .

Lessons

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep UP on what's new with Upsy Daisy!

Join 7 other followers


