It’s Always About Timing

August 7, 2010 at 4:22 am 1 comment

Look at me trying to start a new side business having just returned from a month in Europe (read: broke), a few weeks from the start of the new school year, a toddler to move in to her “big girl room” which requires a room swap and minor closet construction, and to add to the mix? I was sick, sick, sick this week. As in I haven’t been this sick in at least 15 years. Oh, and we’re trying to go camping this weekend …

The total sum of what I accomplished for Upsy Daisy? A big fat zero.

The good news is that my fabric has shipped and should be here in the next week or so. ¬†And so long as everyone in my family stays healthy I do plan on pulling out the piles of fabric I brought home from Italy to start creating dresses next week. Realistically only one or two dresses because as much as I’d like to keep sewing one after the other, I also have to work on the pattern making. I’ve made three patterns so far and all of them need to be adjusted and remade. After I get the adjustments just right I then have to create the patterns in other sizes and make the dresses in those sizes, find friends who have kids in those sizes to try the dresses, and then adjust again. I now know why my favorite pattern makers out there take so long to create a new piece!

One of the dresses I’ll be making – and selling (as soon as I get the license) – is an upcycled dress using a pattern from one of my inspirations, Little Blue Boo. Although mine will look different than those she has on her website, the basic construction will be the same. I’ve been collecting old tshirts for months now, have scored a few on super clearance at Target, and found some fabulous solid coordinating fabric while in Italy! I can not wait to start creating them!!

So there you have it. I’ve done nothing in the past week other than think about what I want to and need to be doing! I’m looking forward to making some significant progress next week!!

Entry filed under: Inspiration, It's Just Business, Pattern Making. Tags: .

Ready, Set, Begin! What a difference a day makes …

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  August 8, 2010 at 4:27 am

    Keep me posted – I want to buy one for Emi! :-) Good luck & feel better. xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep UP on what's new with Upsy Daisy!

Join 7 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

